Throwback Thursday

Don’t you just love social media on Thursdays? I have so much fun seeing friends’ pictures of them recalling happy moments from yester-years. And I absolutely love when friends share borderline embarrassing stories that now are just plain comical!!

However, now, it doesn’t even have to be a Thursday to throw-it-back. Facebook has created a new app- “On this day”. When I first started using this feature and looking back at my high school and college posts, I would cringe from sharing a post that contained the word “sicknasty” (Yes, this happened. Six years ago today. In reference to a blackcurrant flavored Starbust. Why I felt the urge to share this with the world, I will never remember.)

But the more I would review my “on this day” posts, the more I grew to love reading them! I love to reflect on how God has directed me to where I am today. I try to remember how I felt when I posted a status update, how much fun I had with the friends in my pictures that I don’t keep in touch with often enough, and how, despite all my anxiety and worry about the future, everything has turned out all right.

I think about all the big, decision-making milestone moments I’ve had: the desired roads blocked by rejections, the doors closed by my own fear, the obstacles I thought were insurmountable. I think about how the path I had wanted for my life is not even close to how it has turned out, how God has planned it.

I think that my life has been a little like the Israelites when they fled Egypt. In my mind (and let’s be honest, some days it’s at the back of my mind), I know that God will provide for me. When I think about this, I am relieved and overjoyed! But, the moment something goes wrong (one of those roads gets blocked, a door gets closed, or an obstacle just gets bigger and bigger), I lose faith and forget that my God will provide.

The Israelites knew God would free them from the Egyptians. They were ecstatic when Moses told them that day had finally come! However, instead of being freed as they were told, their enslavement only became more difficult and they cried out to God, questioning His promise to them. When Pharoah resolved to finally release the Israelites, they escaped to the wilderness only to be trapped by the Red Sea and an Egyptian army. Not seeing any possible way out, they again cried out to God with doubt and fear. And you know what God did? He parted the Red Sea. NBD.

I think that sometimes we can’t even imagine how God saves us, what paths he will lead us down. But, I do know that no matter what path it is, it will bring glory to Him.

Look back on your “on this day” posts. Remember the path behind you. Let it provide courage and confidence that our God is with you every step of the way.

“…’Don’t be afraid. Stand firm and see the Lord’s salvation He will provide for you today.’…”
Exodus 13:13

PS – In honor of TBT, I’ll share some pictures from the good ole’ glory days (aka high school). I must have just attended my senior prom “on this day”8 years ago!! And, by the way, I spelled prom as praaam. Ugh, I will never understand my younger self!! Ha!!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment